November 25, 2017 - These changes are available to some customers already and will be rolled out to all customers in the coming weeks.  We will inform customers by email when their accounts have been updated.

How to convert a Contact to an active User

Only process admins can convert users to contacts and vice versa.

  • Go to the USERS tab of your process
  • Select the Contact you wish to convert to an active User
  • Edit the contact's profile and change the process-level role from Contact to Project Member (or Project Creator or Process Admin).  
  • Enter the person's email address if none is already associated with the contact. (Note: You will only be able to associate an email address with a contact if the same email is not already associated with another user or contact in any process of your company account.*)
  • Save
  • Inform the user that their account has been activated.  If needed, you can request a password reset on their behalf to trigger an email notification.

After signing in, the user will have access to any projects and associated tasks, issues, documents, and events, according to the permissions configured while their account was classified as a Contact.

* Tip: In general, we recommend having an email address associated with all Contacts to guarantee a smooth conversion to active users later.  To do this, first create an active User account (= with an email associated) and immediately convert it to a Contact.  

How to convert a User to a Contact

  • Go to the USERS tab of your process
  • Select the User you wish to convert to a Contact
  • Edit the user's profile
  • Change the process-level role to Contact
  • Save

After saving, the user will no longer be able to sign in to your process.  However, they may still have access to another process in your company account as an active User.

The Contact will retain all project membership info, assignments to tasks/issues/events, and permissions should you ever decide to reactivate the user account.

Tip: Converting users to Contacts is strongly recommended rather than deleting them from your process.